splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

1950s #CosyMystery – Murder at St Saviour’s by Merryn Allingham – fascinating read!

Title: Murder at St Saviour’s

Series: A Flora Steele Mystery #5

Author: Merryn Allingham

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: November 21st, 2022

Buy Link:

Amazon:  https://geni.us/B0B5YPLCJBsocial

My Review:

If you enjoy reading a cosy murder mystery
Set in an earlier period of history
This 1950s should definitely appeal
It's a great read, as I'm about to reveal!

Flora Steele lives in the village of Abbeymead
She's a bookshop owner who is determined to succeed.
Often on the scene when there's been a crime
With her 'boyfriend' Jack Carrington they try to solve it every time.

For once the pair are going out on a date
But Flora is waiting for a customer, running late.
A toll of a church bell has them going to discover
A body, dead on the floor - oh, no, not another!

A note in the dead man's hand
Makes this seem like a murder, carefully planned.
Can Flora and Jack help to find the killer
Discover for yourself in this cosy crime thriller!

I really like how the villagers all play their part
And visitors stand out, right from the start.
There are plenty of twists and surprises galore
As the victim's past we start to explore.

Accidents, incidents, mysteries and danger
Along with clues that point to a stranger.
However there's a huge surprise in store
But read it for yourself to learn much more!

I've enjoyed every book in this series, including the previous four,
And highly recommend them as I can't wait to read more!
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
It's a thrilling mystery and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

Bookshop owner and amateur detective Flora Steele teams up with handsome crime writer Jack Carrington to unravel a curious murder in the village of Abbeymead!

Sussex, 1956: When Flora and her partner-in-crime-solving, Jack, arrive at the charming church of St Saviour’s the last thing they’re expecting to find is the curate, Lyle Beaumont, lifeless on the flagstone floor beneath the belltower, with a mysterious note in his hand.

Flora is dismayed to find the poor curate dead. But she can’t help being intrigued by the eclectic mix of bell ringers present at the old church – Mr Preece, the local butcher, Dilys Fuller, the busybody postmistress, and Stephen Henshall, a newcomer to the close-knit community. Any one of them could be the culprit – and Flora needs to act fast before someone gets away with murder…

When Flora and Jack begin their sleuthing, they quickly realise all is not what it seems with the victim, and the certainty of the dead man’s identity becomes the first twist in the investigation.

Just as they’re getting closer to the answer, the death of one of the suspects changes everything. As a series of unexplained accidents unfolds across the village, it seems no-one who was present at the church on the night of the curate’s demise is safe.

Has the bell tolled on Flora and Jack’s detective days? And will they work out the truth in time to save themselves?

A completely addictive cozy crime novel set in the fictional Sussex village of Abbeymead. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis!

Earlier books in this series:

The titles are links to my review posts for the books.

Author Bio:

Merryn taught university literature for many years, and it took a while to pluck up the courage to begin writing herself. Bringing the past to life is a passion and her historical fiction includes Regency romances, wartime sagas and timeslip novels, all of which have a mystery at their heart. As the books have grown darker, it was only a matter of time before she plunged into crime with a cosy crime series set in rural Sussex against the fascinating backdrop of the 1950s.

Merryn lives in a beautiful old town in Sussex with her husband and one last cat, Bluebell. When she’s not writing, she tries to keep fit with adult ballet classes and plenty of walking.

https://www.facebook.com/MerrynWrites

https://twitter.com/merrynwrites

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Merryn Allingham here:  https://www.bookouture.com/merryn-allingham

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: