splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Incredibly moving read – We Fly Beneath the Stars by Suzanne Kelman – WWII, Russia’s Night Witches

My Review:

I'd never heard of Russia’s Night Witches before,
But they're the stars of this story set in the Second World War.
Tasha and Nadia are Russian sister who
In the War are determined to do their part, too.

Both are pilots and sign up to fly,
Sent on missions on which they could die. 
This is the story of their history and life
During this war torn era, so full of strive.

Overcoming prejudice, poor equipment and more
Against the Nazis these sisters are determined to score.
However, everything doesn't always go their way
And then someone is going to have to pay....

A different story involving historical elements that are true
Sharing the training, the testing and flights, too,
Along with relationships, experiences and fears,
Will it all finally end in tears?

If you enjoy historical fiction to read
This is one book you may next need.
However, when you get to the end I have to warn you
You may also need some tissues at the ready, too!

Such a different look at Russian women pilots in the war,
What they experienced and so much more!
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
It's a superb, heartwarming romance and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

1942, Europe: Based on the true story of a female-only bomber battalion, this is a totally heartbreaking and unforgettable story about sacrifice, sisterhood and a love that transcends war.

When the love of Tasha’s life, Luca, joins the air force to fight against the evil Nazi invaders, she knows she has to follow her heart—and him—into battle. Headstrong, impulsive and a daredevil, she’s the perfect recruit.

Tasha’s sensible older sister Nadia plans only to stop Tasha’s madness and bring her home. But a chance encounter puts her in a plane, soaring above the clouds, and she also finds her calling.

Underestimated by their superiors, Nadia and her sister find themselves in airplanes barely fit to fly, being sent on perilous missions with little hope of return. But before long their battalion is being nicknamed ‘the Night Witches’ by the Nazis, their ownership of the skies second to none.

But danger is up in the storm clouds with them, and when both sisters are shot down behind Nazi enemy lines, and taken to a brutal prison camp, they expect to never see their beloved homeland again.

Until Tasha’s eyes meet across the wire fence with someone she never expected to see again: the love of her life, Luca.

But with love comes peril… Will one sister have to sacrifice everything to save the other?

Absolutely unputdownable historical fiction, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot SeeThe Ragged Edge of Night, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Buy Link: Amazon:  https://geni.us/B0BCWY3ZLWsocial

Author Bio:

Suzanne Kelman is a 2015 Academy of Motion Pictures Nicholl Finalist, Multi-Award-Winning Screenwriter and a Film Producer. As well as working in film she is also an International Amazon Bestselling Fiction Author of the Southlea Bay Series – The Rejected Writers’ Book Club, Rejected Writers Take the Stage and The Rejected Writers’ Christmas Wedding. Born in the United Kingdom, she now resides in Washington State.

https://www.suzannekelmanauthor.com/

https://www.facebook.com/suzkelman

https://www.instagram.com/suzkelman/

https://twitter.com/suzkelman

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Suzanne Kelman here:  https://www.bookouture.com/suzanne-kelman

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

One comment on “Incredibly moving read – We Fly Beneath the Stars by Suzanne Kelman – WWII, Russia’s Night Witches

  1. Suzanne Kelman
    December 1, 2022

    Thank you so much for your lovely poem and review. That must have taken a while to do. I am very impressed, and I so appreciate your time and effort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: