splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Gorgeous, heartwarming read – The Cottage in the Highlands by Julie Shackman

My Review:

What a gorgeous, heartwarming read this proved to be,
Complete with romances and mystery!
It starts with Leonie having life changing news and so
It is off for a walk with her puppy she'll go.

Unfortunately the pup doesn't always respond straight away
She enjoys having fun and going out to play.
This time she helps Leonie to discover
A wonderful house and cottage next door to each other.

Lily Cruickshank lives in the cottage alone
And visitors aren't welcome, they make her moan.
However, Leonie is intrigued - and a journalist, too.
Investigating is what she'll next do!

A story of thwarted romance
That is to be given an unexpected second chance.
Along with other mysteries that start to unfold
To discover the truth, Leonie will need to be bold!

A new job, a fresh start,
Investigations and romance all play a part.
Add in danger and risk and you've got a brill read
Hope it proves to be the book that you also need!

Synopsis:

When Leonie Baxter finds herself out of a job and out of a relationship, she’s at her wits end. Her life has just been turned upside down and she needs a plan, fast.

By chance, on a walk with her rescue puppy, Leonie stumbles across a striking house in the woods; fully furnished but unoccupied. As a journalist, she is determined to find out more, after all, reporting is in her nature.

But her attempts are thwarted by Lily Cruickshank who lives in the cottage next door. Why won’t Lily help Leonie? And who is the mysterious Flynn Talbot, whose letter Leonie finds inside the house?

And in uncovering the secrets of the abandoned house, will Leonie open her own heart and let love back into her life?

The brand new escapist story from the bestselling author of A Secret Scottish Escape and A Scottish Highland Surprise, for fans of Jo Thomas, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Purchase Links:

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cottage-Highlands-romance-Scottish-Escapes-ebook/dp/B09YLF6PL5 

USA https://www.amazon.com/Cottage-Highlands-romance-Scottish-Escapes-ebook/dp/B09YLF6PL5 

Author Bio –

Julie Shackman is a former journalist from Scotland, who has always wanted to write feel-good romance. As well as being an author, Julie also writes verses and captions for greetings card companies. Julie admits to having an obsession with stationery and handbags. She is married, has two sons and has a Romanian rescue puppy, Cooper. The Cottage in the Highlands is Julie’s seventh novel.

Social Media Links –

https://twitter.com/G13Julie

https://www.facebook.com/julie.shackman

https://www.instagram.com/juliegeorginashackman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: