splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Brilliant English Cosy Mystery – Murder at the Castle by Lisa Cutts – #Review #BooksOnTour

Title: Murder at the Castle

Series: Belinda Penshurst #2

Author: Lisa Cutts

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: 8th December, 2021

Pages: 301

Rating: 5*

My Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story
A cosy mystery with sleuths not out for glory.
The relationship between them could lead to romance
But only if they're both willing to give the other a chance!

The story is well paced, intriguing and fun
With great characters, plot twist and much to be done.
Red herrings abound to keep you guessing, too
And turning the pages till you're all the way through!

A special wine tasting event Belinda arranged
For the locals to see what's changed.
A local vintner, promoting his ware,
Suggests a star guest to lead the affair!

However, when the star collapses in front of all
The police are needed, they have to call
Who poisoned her and how?
Belinda really needs to know.

She's on the case with retired detective Harry
Together this sleuthing pair will not tarry.
As schemes and scandals they start to reveal
Just who is the killer, what do they conceal?

I highly recommend this book to you 
If you enjoy reading cosy mysteries too!
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

When the star guest collapses at a wine tasting, it seems someone has a taste for murder. Fortunately, amateur sleuth Belinda Penshurst was at the event – and now she’s on the case!

Belinda Penshurst loves her home village Little Challham, and its charming, peaceful ways. So when wine critic Sadie Oppenshaw dies at a tasting Belinda organised, she immediately turns detective to uncover the poisoner…

Accompanied by retired detective Harry Powell and her boisterous Labrador Horatio, Belinda sets out to investigate the world of wine. There are scandals brewing everywhere… but do the local DIY enthusiasts have a deadly vendetta, or did Sadie’s reviews cause a resentful restaurant owner to crack?

When another of the guests at the wine tasting is found poisoned, it becomes clear the killer is only just getting started. Can Belinda crack the case and open the champagne, before the murderer catches up with her?

A charming cozy mystery, perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna and Emily Organ.

Author Bio:

Lisa Cutts is a full-time detective constable investigating murders for a living. When off duty she writes a fictitious version of her day job. She lives and works within the county of Kent with her husband and Labrador.

She is the author of the DC Nina Foster books, Never Forget and Remember, RememberNever Forgot was longlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award 2013 and the winner of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award 2014 for Best Thriller. She has also written four books in the East Rise Incident Room series, Mercy KillingBuried SecretsLost Lives and Don’t Trust Him. All four centre around DI Harry Powell and his Major Crime Team battling to solve the latest murders within the county. Currently she is writing the Little Challham mysteries, cosy mysteries set in a fictional village in Kent.

She writes a monthly column, Behind the Tape, for Writing Magazine answering police procedural questions from other writers. In early 2016, she was honoured to become the Patron of Rochester Literature Festival and help establish Murderous Medway, an annual crime fiction festival packed full of amazing author panels. As well as being on BBC Radio 4’s Open Book, Lisa has twice appeared on This Morning to chat about TV crime dramas Broadchurch and Line of Duty.

https://www.facebook.com/lisa.cutts.505/

https://www.instagram.com/lisa_cutts/

https://twitter.com/LisaCuttsAuthor

The previous book in this series is Murder in the Village.

One comment on “Brilliant English Cosy Mystery – Murder at the Castle by Lisa Cutts – #Review #BooksOnTour

  1. Pingback: Fascinating #CosyMystery – Murder at the Gardens by Lisa Cutts – | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: