splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Great murder mystery peppered through with fun – The Murder Garden by Alice Castle

Title: The Murder Garden

Author: Alice Castle

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Day: November 15th 2022 

Buy link(s) : https://geni.us/B0BKT18FQ5social

My Review:

This is another fab Beth Haldane cosy mystery tale
Full of twists, danger and engaging without fail!
I thoroughly enjoyed this page turner read
And hope you agree it is just what you next need!

In her garden her dog finds a human bone
So for the police she has to phone.
When it turns out it isn't just one
She wishes the forensic team will quickly be gone!

However, with more finds, who could it be?
 Beth is determined to resolve the mystery.
Just who could the killer be
And how did the bones end up under her tree?

With family drama and her partner often away
Whilst her young son also has much to say
Can Beth keep doing her job and still discover
Who the killer is before they kill another?

With warnings being sent to put Beth off the case
She needs to make sure she has caution in place.
She doesn't want to be the next victim, that's clear
But just who or what should she really fear?

Another murder mystery peppered through with fun
Family drama and friends getting things done.
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
It is an intriguing read and this is my honest review. 

Description:

A winding path leads past the beautiful begonias to an overhanging oak tree. But underneath, a deadly secret is hiding…

Beth Haldane cradles a warm cup of tea and admires the view of crisp, red autumn leaves scattering the lawn of her little garden. But the peace and quiet is interrupted when her loyal pet pooch sniffs out something suspicious. At the bottom of a freshly-dug hole is a bone: and it looks worryingly human.

Even for a mystery-loving amateur sleuth like Beth, the discovery of a body beneath her own lawn is a little too close for comfort. But when the police insist that she must know something about the remains, digging up the truth herself is Beth’s only option.

With gossip flying all around Dulwich Village, Beth has her work cut out to find the culprit. Could a local cat-sitter, with keys to every home on the street, have been involved? Is her ex-actress neighbour a little too good at acting innocent? And was a whispered secret at a dinner party meant to point Beth in the right direction?

Scouring her garden for missed clues, when Beth discovers a shining silver engraved coin she’s certain it will lead to the victim’s identity. But the arrival of a threatening anonymous message sends chills down her spine… can Beth find a killer hiding in plain sight, before she’s the one pushing up daisies?

A deliciously cozy and gripping murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and The Thursday Murder Club.

Author Bio:

Before turning to crime, Alice Castle was a UK newspaper journalist for The Daily Express, The Times and The Daily Telegraph. Alice is an avid reader of crime fiction, her favourite stories are cozy crimes with a strong sense of place. When she couldn’t find a series about her beloved south London, she decided to write her own – and single mum amateur sleuth Beth Haldane was born. Alice also writes twisty psychological thrillers for HQ Digital under the name A.M. Castle. The Perfect Widow was a top selling audiobook in 2019 and The Invitation hit the top 50 on Amazon UK in 2021. Alice lives with her two children and two cats and, if she isn’t writing or reading a whodunit, she’ll be watching one on telly.

Author Social Media Links

Website:https://alicecastleauthor.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/alice.castle.355

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AliceMCastle

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/alice_castle__/

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/alice-castle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: