splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Christmas at Mistletoe Cove by Holly Martin

If you are in the mood for a delightful, second chance, festive romance don’t bother reading my review – just start reading this brilliant book!

Series: Hope Island #3

Title: Christmas at Mistletoe Cove

Author:  Holly Martin

Publisher: Bookouture

Pages: 265

Published: September 22nd, 2017

Rating: 5/5

 

My Review:

They grew up together, were always a pair, but soon after kissing Eden for the first time Dougie Harrison left with his parents to live in America. Whenever he returns to Hope Island he stays with his best friend, Eden Lancaster and that’s been going on for the last twelve years. Now he’s left his New York life behind to return home to Hope Island bringing his dreams with him.

Eden has always had dreams of her own and most have revolved around Dougie wanting her as so much more than his best friend . . . Both are reticent and wary of moving their relationship on – but twelve years is a long time and maybe their feelings might be returned by their best friend? Can they trust their hearts to each other? Will Christmas change everything for them this year?

This is a heartwarming story of taking a chance on love, good old-fashioned wooing, fairy wishes and a magical well. Whilst it is the third in the series and does mention other characters from the earlier books, I still believe it works well as a standalone. It is a moving, cosy festive read, ideal for curling up with and escaping into – and some of the romantic gestures Dougie makes will definitely have you swooning your way through this story which is a great addition to the delectable series. Take yourself off to the Scilly Isles for a great story with plenty of reassurance needed in this  emotive, snowy, festive romance!

I requested and received a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

Christmas has arrived at Hope Island, promising snowflakes, surprises and plenty of seasonal joy. So snuggle up and fall in love at Mistletoe Cove …

Growing up on Hope Island, Eden Lancaster always believed that if you wished hard enough for something, dreams really could come true. But Eden’s greatest wish is also her biggest secret: she has been completely in love with her childhood friend, the charming and attractive Dougie Harrison, for as long as she can remember. And he has no idea. 

When Dougie leaves his successful life in New York to return home to Hope Island for good, Eden can’t escape her feelings. Her heart is full of hope that her romantic dreams are finally, at long last, going to come true…

This Christmas could change everything. But can a lifelong friendship really turn into the perfect romance? And will Eden get the happily ever after she’s always wished for?

Christmas at Mistletoe Cove is like a warm hug on a cold winter’s day. The perfect treat this Christmas for fans of Debbie Johnson, Cathy Bramley and Miranda Dickinson.

 

Amazon Links:    UK  http://amzn.to/2tlQlK7      US  http://amzn.to/2subuyR

 

Author Bio:

 Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hollymartinauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HollyMAuthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hollymartin_author/

Website: https://hollymartinwriter.wordpress.com/my-books/

Follow the Tour:

 

Many thanks to Bookouture for organising this tour and providing materials for this post as well as gifting me an ARC of the novel with no obligation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: