splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Forever Gift by Brooke Harris – absolutely amazing!!!

I remember you learning to ride a bike, the first time you shot a goal with a basketball… and the first time I realised something was wrong. I look at you, my daughter, my beautiful sparky daughter. I would do anything to keep you safe.

Heather’s beloved daughter, Kayla, is her world. She is fifteen, a brilliant basketball player and a fierce friend.

Heather and Kayla have always had a special relationship. For so many years it was just the two of them, watching Friends, baking cupcakes and laughing together. But now Kayla knows her time is short, and she wants to give something back to the mother she loves more than anyone else in the world. A gift that will change Heather’s life.

With just a handful of days left, Kayla will need help from everyone around her to make this last surprise happen. Along the way, the people whose lives have been touched by Kayla’s light will be changed by her loss, and by her plan for Heather. And as Heather’s whole world threatens to fall apart, could Kayla’s forever gift be the key to piecing her life back together?

An absolutely unputdownable, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting novel about motherhood, family and how far we go to protect those we love. Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Jill Childs, and Kerry Fisher.
 

My Review:

This is one of the most moving stories I have ever had the pleasure to read. It is an amazing, emotive story of family, motherhood, life, heartbreak and hope, a story that had tears literally streaming down my face as I attempted to carry on reading, wanting to know what happened next but so moved by what had just occurred in the story.  My basic advice is don’t bother reading my review – just grab yourself a copy of this book which is definitely one of the most memorable and moving I’ve ever read.

The chapters are told from the point of view of different characters, making it easy to empathise with the characters as you learn things from their perspective. At the start you meet fifteen year old Kayla. She’s captain of her school basketball team, a top scorer they can rely on, a great team player and much loved friend and daughter. Her single Mum is Heather and Kayla is her world. When an injury results in Kayla needing more tests the resultant diagnosis has them both urgently moving from Cork to Dublin, Kayla being admitted to the Children’s Hospital there whilst Heather goes to stay with Kayla’s Dad, Stepmother and four year old half sister, Molly. There’s plenty of angst and anxiety from Kayla’s diagnosis but the added pressure of the family arrangements, tests, decision making and all the emotional turmoil prove difficult and put strains on individuals and their relationships to each other. Through it all this is a battle for life and love, a fight for dreams to come true and life to be lived to the fullest.

This truly was an unputdownable, heartbreaking and inspirational read, one that deserves more than 5*. I cannot recommend it highly enough – but make sure you have tissues at the ready when you read it!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and finding it to be an absolutely amazing, moving page-turner that I couldn’t put down, even though it did make me cry.

 

Buy Links

AMZ: https://geni.us/B07T5BB6YCSocial Apple Books: https://buff.ly/2KjaPdP Kobo: https://buff.ly/31dgfOh Google Play: https://buff.ly/2Ztj3pU

About the author

 
USA Today bestselling author Brooke Harris is undoubtedly a bibliophile. She is proud to be someone who opens the middle pages of a book and inhales deeply. 
Brooke loves all forms of art; painting, playing piano, crafting, but, her greatest love is stories. Brooke writes heart-breaking and emotionally led fiction but always with undertones of hope and positivity because Brooke firmly believes that darkness only lasts so long before light follows.

Brooke lives in county Kildare, Ireland with her husband and five young children. She is a keen supporter of mental health charities and creating a greater understanding of mental illness.

Brooke writes women’s fiction for Bookouture. She also writes psychological suspense for Lake Union as Janelle Harris.
 
https://twitter.com/Janelle_Brooke
https://www.facebook.com/janellebrookewrites/
Follow the tour:
Many thanks to Bookouture for gifting me a copy of this book via NetGalley and for providing materials for this post. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this emotive story and being absolutely enthralled and amazed by it throughout.

3 comments on “The Forever Gift by Brooke Harris – absolutely amazing!!!

  1. carhicks
    August 8, 2019

    More than 5 stars! I will have to see if I can find this one. I was worried it would be too sad for me, but your review has me making the decision to give it a go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      August 8, 2019

      It is sad but also has happier vibes, too – you’ll definitely need the tissues at the ready! I can’t recommend it highly enough, brilliantly written and so moving. I hope you get to read it and enjoy it as much as I did, Carla.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: