splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Some Like it Greek by Sue Roberts – travel adventure, secret past, family drama – it has it all!

 

Title: Some Like it Greek

Author: Sue Roberts

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: August 21st, 2020

Pages:  238

Rating:

 

 

My Review:

This is a lovely contemporary romance, a story about daring to change your life and take a chance – whilst still being careful!

The sudden death of her father leads Anna to clearing out his home with her sister. Whilst doing so she discovers some postcards showing his youthful adventure exploring Greece and maps showing he’d planned to return there. She’s had the option to take redundancy and Anna decides to do just that – and to follow her father’s planned route, driving her father’s old camper van. She invites her father’s contemporary and neighbour, Demi, to join her on this adventure. Demi is Greek but has lived in England for many decades, never returning to her home because she doesn’t want to fly. This is a way to get there without flying, but there will be some great encounters on route, secrets from the past revealed, family reconnected and even an unforeseen romance!

It is a story packed with love, great characters, tasty food, beautiful scenery and a heartwarming reunion. I thoroughly enjoyed joining Anna and Demi on this camper van adventure. I’d actually been somewhat reticent about reading it as it involves the death of Anna’s Dad and I’m still missing mine following his death in January but I need not have worried, this really is an uplifting story, one to put a huge smile on your face and having you laughing out loud at some of their interactions. Without giving a major spoiler away, one of my favourite encounters involved Demi and a cocky teen thief who got much more than he bargained for – just got to love Demi!

I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this adventurous read to anyone looking for a well crafted romance to take you on a journey revisiting the past and moving on to the future with some beautiful countryside and very special characters.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and thoroughly enjoying doing so.

Synopsis:

There’s nothing like a summer escape. A sun-kissed story about living life to the full.

In the month-from-hell, incurable optimist Anna has lost her father and her job, and her trademark smile is dimming. Clearing out her dad’s house, she discovers a postcard of a beautiful sandy beach and a map with a route plotted to the Greek island of Kefalonia. With an empty summer stretching ahead, Anna’s eyes stray to her father’s old camper van. Next thing she knows, she’s hitting the road with friend Demi in tow, on a course from Salford to Skala!

Over one unforgettable summer, Anna and Demi make their rickety way along the sparkling Mediterranean coast, the hot sun shining down on their frequent mishaps with cheerful local characters. It’s the trip of a lifetime, and the scent of lemons in the air – as well as an unexpected romance – are just what Anna needs to awaken her inner Greek goddess.

But there are big surprises in store when they arrive at the island paradise, which could change both women’s lives forever. And as summer comes to an end, Anna has to decide whether she has had enough of the Greek life, or whether this is only just the beginning…

A joyful, hilarious summer read, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

Amazon: https://bit.ly/35Y7nQ7
Apple Books: https://apple.co/3bsfipU
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2xVk69N
Google Play: https://bit.ly/2WMA26C

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: