splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#Festive #FamilyDrama and #Romance – Christmas at Red Robin Cottage by Sue Roberts

Snow is falling on Little Newdale; decorations are being hung and joy is in the air. But at Red Robin Cottage, Sarah is feeling far from merry and bright…

My Review:

Christmas is coming but no geese are getting fat
Instead Sarah Dunne is not in the mood for any of that!
Her sweet sixteen daughter is also feeling blue
How to cheer them both up, Sarah hasn't got a clue!

With secrets that have been kept concealed
Being accidentally revealed,
Then glimpsing a sight of someone she used to know - 
Her teen crush who left for the US many years ago.

This is a very different story, showing the importance of friends,
And how being honest can help just how the story ends.
With jobs in peril, new ideas are needed now,
To help keep them employed and busy somehow.

Working together, sharing ideas,
Helping one another sort out their fears.
Add in a second chance romance or two
And a fun festive read is here for you.

With relationships rekindled and new ones started, too,
Along with family drama, misunderstandings and things to do.
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
It is a lovely festive read and this is my honest review.

Synopsis:

Since her marriage went up in flames like a Christmas pudding, there’s nothing Sarah Dunne wants more than a peaceful festive season filled with carols and mince pies. But Sarah’s teenage daughter Ellie is feeling the winter blues, faced with spending the holiday without her father.

Desperate to bring home some seasonal cheer and make this a Christmas to remember for Ellie, Sarah follows the trail of fairy lights into the snow-covered village. Among the holiday crowds she finds herself gazing into the soft brown eyes of a handsome stranger whose smile is startlingly familiar. It couldn’t really be her childhood sweetheart, Luke, could it?

Even though he moved half a world away nineteen years ago, as they bond over hot chocolate and tales of traumatic break-ups it’s clear time hasn’t changed Luke’s effortless charm. And when he saves Sarah from a wardrobe malfunction at a Christmas party, it’s not just the mulled wine warming her heart. But she can’t let herself fall in love again. Especially as Luke isn’t here to stay…

Then Ellie reveals she’s been keeping a BIG secret about Sarah’s ex. Reeling, Sarah longs to turn to Luke for comfort. But will that put her already fragile relationship with her daughter at risk, and chase Luke away even faster? Or will opening her heart mean Sarah gets her wish for a magical Christmas after all?

Grab a blanket and a mug of cocoa and curl up by the fire with this completely addictive festive romance. Fans of Cathy Bramley, Phillipa Ashley and Heidi Swain will love this charming, feel-good holiday read that proves you don’t need the perfect family to have a perfect Christmas!

My Review:





Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B6WL64PWsocial

Author Bio:

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!
https://www.instagram.com/suerobertsauthor/
https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Sue Roberts here: https://www.bookouture.com/sue-roberts

One comment on “#Festive #FamilyDrama and #Romance – Christmas at Red Robin Cottage by Sue Roberts

  1. Carla
    October 6, 2022

    I love holiday romance, especially when there is Christmas magic. Nice review, Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: